Dr. G. Alexander “Zan” Fleming

On April 14, 2012, we appointed Dr. G. Alexander Fleming to our Board of Advisors. Dr. Fleming is a board certified endocrinologist with medical and research training at Emory, Vanderbilt, and National Institutes of Health. He served as reviewer and supervisory medical officer for 12 years at the FDA and brings extensive clinical experience and regulatory responsibility in the therapeutic area of diabetes and other general metabolic, bone, and endocrine disorders, growth and development, nutrition, lipidlowering compounds, and reproductive indications. He led reviews of landmark approvals including those of the first statin, insulin analog, metformin, PPARagonist, and growth hormone for nonGH deficiency indications. He was responsible for the regulation of the earliest biotech products including human insulin and growth hormone. Dr. Fleming helped to shape a number of FDA policies and practices related to therapeutic review and regulatory communication and represented the FDA at the International Conference on Harmonisation (ICH) and the World Health Organization. Dr. Fleming serves on numerous scientific advisory boards, expert committees, and corporate boards. He has continued to promote dialogue and creativity within the community of therapeutic developers. Dr. Fleming has authored the book, "Optimizing Development of Therapies for Diabetes" and a wide variety of scientific and policy publications. He has served as an invited editorialist to The New England Journal of Medicine and as a commentator on National Public Radio.

Prof. Camillo Ricordi

On November 14, 2012, we appointed Professor Camillo Ricordi to our Board of Advisors. Prof. Ricordi is the Stacy Joy Goodman Professor of Surgery, Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, and Microbiology and Immunology at the University of Miami Diabetes Research Institute. He also serves as Director of the Diabetes Research Institute Cell Transplant Center and Responsible Head of the NIH-funded cGMP Human Cell Processing Facility.

Dr. Jay S. Skyler

On April 9, 2013, we appointed Dr. Jay Skyler to our Board of Advisors. Dr. Skyler's career in diabetes spans five decades, where his research interests have concentrated in clinical aspects of diabetes, particularly improving the care of Type 1 diabetes. Dr. Skyler is a Professor of Medicine, Pediatrics and Psychology at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine and Deputy Director for Clinical Research and Academic Programs at the Diabetes Research Institute. He also is an Adjunct Professor of Pediatrics at the Barbara Davis Center for Childhood Diabetes, University of Colorado at Denver. He is a past President of the American Diabetes Association, the International Diabetes Immunotherapy Group, and the Southern Society for Clinical Investigation, and was a Vice-President of the International Diabetes Federation. He served as a member of the Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism Subspecialty Examining Board of the American Board of Internal Medicine, as Chairman of the Council of Subspecialty Societies of the American College of Physicians (ACP) and a member of the ACP Board of Regents. A frequent national and international lecturer, Dr. Skyler has been an author, editor and co-editor of numerous books, monographs, chapters and articles. Dr. Skyler was founding Editor-in-Chief of Diabetes Care.

Prof. Itamar Raz

On March 16, 2015, we appointed Professor Itamar Raz to our Board of Advisors. Prof. Raz holds medical degree from Hadassah Medical School at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem where he is a professor of Internal Medicine and was the Head of the Diabetes Unit at Hadassah University Hospital from 2000 to 2015. Prof. Raz is currently the head of the Israel National Council of Diabetes which is responsible for formulating national policies and is the initiator and leader of the National Diabetes Prevention and Care Plan in Israel. In addition, Prof. Raz is President of D-Cure, a non-profit organization that promotes and funds scientific research in Israel for finding a cure, prevention and better treatments for diabetes. At Hadassah, Prof. Raz has been active in basic and clinical research and is currently leading several large international outcome diabetes (type 2) studies involving the heart and kidney in diabetic patients. He has over 320 publications to his credit in professional peer-reviewed journals and holds various editorial board positions in 8 diabetes related international journals. He lectures widely at national and international diabetes meetings and serves on several international advisory boards.

Dr. Lorenzo Piemonti

Lorenzo Piemonti, MD, was born in Carate Brianza, Italy, and graduated Summa cum Laude from the University of Milan in 1994, and specialized with Summa Cum Laude in Endocrinology and Metabolic Diseases and in Micro and Experimental surgery at the University of Milan in 2000 and 2004, respectively. At IRCCS Ospedale San Raffaele (OSR), he serves as Director of the Diabetes Research Institute and as Director of Human Islet Transplantation Program. He also serves as Chief of the Beta Cell Biology Unit within the Diabetes Research Institute, Director of the Human Islet Processing Facility, and as Coordinator of the European Consortium for Islet Transplantation that has been providing human beta cell products for research and clinical applications at OSR, in Italy and across state barriers in Europe since 2000. He also serves as Professor in Endocrinology at Università Vita-Salute San Raffaele of Milan and as Honorary Visiting Professor at Vrije Universiteit of Brussels.

Dr. Piemonti currently also serves as section Editor of Cell Transplantation: the Regenerative Medicine Journal and of Current Diabetes Reports, and is on the editorial board of Acta Diabetologica. Dr. Piemonti is also a council member of the International Pancreas and Islet Transplantation Association (IPITA) of The Transplantation Society (TTS) and previously (2011-2017) served as member of the European Pancreas and Islet Transplantation Association (EPITA) committee of the European Society for Organ Transplantation (ESOT).